Random Thoughts on Saturday Morning

10 Jan

It’s Saturday morning and I’m waiting for the rest of the family to get up and get moving.  We’re continuing our work on converting a bedroom to family office today.  And yes, we’re finally going to put the Christmas tree away.  There’s a good chance I still have presents under there.

I know there’s at least one copy of Glen Becks “The Christmas Sweater
.”  Maybe I’ll get started reading that tonight.

I keep thinking though, that if I intend to be a serious writer, and if I intend to write on subjects other than politics, I need to be, well, doing that.

I thought this morning about writing about PETA’s lastest lunacy of wanting to call fish “Sea Kittens.”

PETA: Spearfish school should be called Sea Kitten
Associated Press
SPEARFISH, S.D. (AP) — The activist animal rights group People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals has asked school officials to change the name of Spearfish High School to “Sea Kitten High School.” The new name would “reflect the gentle nature of its current marine namesake,” the organization said in a letter to Steve Morford, Spearfish High School principal.

Those people seriously need more protein in their diet. Kat talked about this yesterday: Fry me up some-a-dem “sea kitties”! Hey Kat, got a good recipe for “Sea Kitties and Chips?”

And I thought about commenting on Stephen Moore’s article in The Wall Street Journal ‘Atlas Shrugged’: From Fiction to Fact in 52 Years, but I decided it’s been too long since I read the book.  Actually I think I listened to it on a road trip.  A very long road trip.  But add it to the re-reading list.

I’ve made all the comments I need to make on Facebook this morning.  And I’m still struggling to figure out how to manage Facebook, Twitter, Plurk, LinkIn and Plaxo.  So far TweetDeck is just confusing me.

I could write a philosophical piece about procrastination.  But I think I’m already doing a pretty good job of demonstrating that.

Once we get Christmas packed away, we have to finish the 8-year-old’s project.  He has to build a compound machine, from at least two simple machines.  And it has to be something that makes this world a better place.

Maybe we can make something to catch “Sea Kitties.”

Leave a Reply

