A year of Grace

2 Feb

default1Ephesians 2:8
For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God.

I find myself at, or still near, the beginning of a year looking at what I want to study or on what I want to concentrate.  This year I keep coming back to grace.

As a follower of Jesus, the older I get the more I believe that we, especially those of us who come from an Evangelical or as I did Holiness tradition, have overlooked grace.  We often spend so much time trying to clean up the outward man that we forget that deep down, we’re all a mess.

We all need grace.

I recently watched again “Amazing Grace” the story of William Wilberforce who led the fight for the abolition of slavery in Great Britain.  In the film, his friend and mentor John Newton once the captain of a slave ship said the following:

Though I have lost my memory, two things I know. I am a great sinner and Christ is a great savior.

Newton is the author of the words that give the film its title “Amazing Grace.”  It is perhaps the best known and best loved hymn in the Christian faith.

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.

Over the course of the next year, I want to read and study more about grace.  What does Scripture say about grace.  How has it been interpreted over the years.

And, what does grace mean in my life?

Stay tuned.

One Response to “A year of Grace”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tuesday’s Child is full of grace - June 16, 2009

    […] this year, I posted that I wanted to spend some time this year studying and reflecting on God’s […]

Leave a Reply

