Wednesday with the Wesleys, March 4

4 Mar

Prayer for Wednesday Evening
John Wesley

O Lord, my judge, thou art also my redeemer.
I have sinned, but thou, O blessed Jesus, art my advocate.
Gracious Lord, spare thy servant whom thou has redeemed with thy most precious blood.
Deliver me from the power of sin and preserve me from the punishment of it.

Thou whose mercy is without measure, whose goodness is unspeakable; despise not thy returning servant who earnestly begs for parson and reconciliation. Grant me the forgiveness of what is past and a perfect repentance of all my sins, that for the time to come I may wiht a pure spirit do thy will, O God, walking humbly with thee, consersing charitably with all men, possessing my soul in resignation and holiness, and my body in santification and honor.

From John Wesley’s Prayers, Abingdon Press, 1951

Leave a Reply

