Just Finished Reading

23 May

I ordered Harlen Coben’s Long Lost after I heard him interviewed by Glenn Beck. I don’t follow all of Beck’s reading recommendations, but this one intrigued me for a couple of reasons. I have my own political/suspense/terror thriller that I’m researching and Beck’s suggestion of Long Lost seemed to fit into the background for that. I couldn’t have been more pleased.

It’s a quick, exciting read. I finished it in three days of lunch reading and a couple hours last night. And I like his style. Not only does Coben tell a compelling story, I was most impressed that he did it without gratuitous violence, crude language or graphic sex. Don’t get me wrong, all of those elements are there, or implied. But he doesn’t drop the big words just for the shock value.

I’ve not previously read any of Coben’s books, nor was I familiar with his character of Myron Bolitar. But I have a feeling I’ll be getting to know both of them better in the future.

Leave a Reply

