Discovering what it means to "Seek Ye First"

25 May

attictalesBut seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.  ~ Matthew 6:33

I’ve spent a lot of time over the last few months pondering that verse.  Trying to figure out what it is that I’m just not getting.  I mean, it seems that if I believe the verse God’s going to give me what I need.  Right?

But the question I’ve had to ask myself is “What does it really mean to Seek first the Kingdom of God?”  What does that look like?  For far too long it’s been too easy to fall into the trap of thinking I’m doing all of these wonderful things for God and expecting Him to bless it.  It’s not quite like that.

I am a planner and organizer by nature.  For years I did professional event planning or used my skills on the campaign trail.  I like to orchestrate things and then sit back and watch them unfold.  So my natural inclination is to want to plan things for God.  And my underlying motivation is the notion that once God blesses my plans, all will be right with my little world.

Instead, things come along to derail those plans.  Health issues, money issues, family issues.  I’m forced again to look at what is really important.  And I begin to learn the distinction between my wants and my needs.

Intellectually, I have an understanding that God’s plan and ways are best.  I have an understanding that allowing Him to lead and work is best.  I can recite those words, say the phrases.  But the test comes in whether or not I’m willing to live that walk.

Do I really believe that because he clothes the lilies of the field that I don’t have to worry about how he will take care of my family?

The balance I’m looking for these days is difference between “seeking first” and “being lazy.”  Knowing that He will supply everything that I need doesn’t allow me to sit back idly and do nothing.

So each day needs to begin with a prayer of “show my your Kingdom today Lord.”  Then we get up in faith and do the things we know we must.

Then tomorrow, we do it all over again.

“Tales from the Attic” is a series of essays being developed as part of a work in progress tentatively entitled “When God closes a door, He throws you through the Attic Ceiling.”  ©  The Write Side of My Brain 2009.

One Response to “Discovering what it means to "Seek Ye First"”

  1. Chris May 28, 2009 at 9:13 am #

    What comes to mind is the verse from James of what true religion is “Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you.”

    To me that means serving others; caring about others… and one of the two most important commandments: “love your neighbor as yourself”.

    Just a few nights ago our church small group (being in between some plans) watched a video by Joyce Meyer that talked about simply talking (e.g. praying) to God every day. No formula to it… but sincerely talking to God. Starting your day that way. Every day. Giving the first fruits of your life (tithe->money, prayer in the morning->time). And she mentioned this verse specifically about seeking FIRST the Kingdom of God. Not our will, not asking God to give us this or that, but for us to seek His will for our life today.

Leave a Reply

