Tuesday's Child is full of grace

16 Jun

Hughes Auditorium, Asbury College, Wilmore, Kentucky

Hughes Auditorium, Asbury College, Wilmore, Kentucky

Earlier this year, I posted that I wanted to spend some time this year studying and reflecting on God’s grace.  I didn’t get very far and sort of wandered off that path.  I guess in this case, I could use a little grace.  But I want to turn back to that study, or at least to some semi-regular posts and thoughts on the subject.

Through him and for his name’s sake, we received grace and apostleship to call people from among all the Gentiles to the obedience that comes from faith.
Romans 1:5

I am not what I ought to be, I am not what I want to be, I am not what I hope to be in another world; but still I am not what I once used to be, and by the grace of God I am what I am.
John Newton

But the gift is not like the trespass. For if the many died by the trespass of the one man, how much more did God’s grace and the gift that came by the grace of the one man, Jesus Christ, overflow to the many!
Romans 5:15

Grace is the good pleasure of God that inclines Him to bestow benefits upon the undeserving. It is a self-existent principle inherent in the divine nature and appears to us as a self-caused propensity to pity the wretched, spare the guilty, welcome the outcast, and bring into favor those who were before under just disapprobation. Its use to us sinful men is to save us and make us sit together in heavenly places to demonstrate to the ages the exceeding riches of God’s kindness to us in Christ Jesus.
A.W. Tozer

But by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace to me was not without effect. No, I worked harder than all of them—yet not I, but the grace of God that was with me.
1 Corinthians 15:10

Leave a Reply

