Reflections on Beach Week 2009

30 Aug

beachmajesty

My family just returned from a week on the Outer Banks. Our visit there was sandwiched between the offshore visits from Bill and Danny. But Monday thru Friday, and as we were leaving on Saturday, the weather was picture perfect.

As I usually do, I got up early before the rest of the family to spend time on the beach. Sometimes I walked. Sometimes I picked up shells (it was a good year for shells). Sometimes I just sat and watched the surf.

I like those times because they clear away the cobwebs in my brain and help me get prepared to face a busy fall, and actually the next 51 weeks until we’re back again.

One thought kept coming back to me over and over as I looked at the expanse of the ocean, the waves crashing to the shore, the billions of grains of sand beneath my feet. How can any rational human being look at the majesty of creation and actually think that this all came into being by the random collision of two molecules billions of years ago?

The spacious firmament on high,
With all the blue ethereal sky,
And spangled heavens, a shining frame
Their great Original proclaim.
Th’unwearied sun, from day to day,
Does his Creator’s powers display,
And publishes to every land
The work of an Almighty Hand.

Joseph Addison, 1712

Leave a Reply

