Happy New Year!

1 Jan

Behold, I make all things new.
~ Revelation 21:5 (KJV)

A new day.  A new year.  A fresh start.  Now that I’m in well into the second half of my first century I am no longer naive enough to believe that a few fireworks, some sparking beverage and the singing of Auld Lang Syne can erase all the troubles of the previous year.  Troubles, being what they are, will follow us into 2010.

Still there’s a sense of a new beginning.  A sense that, when those inevitable challenges come in the new year, we’ll be better prepared to deal with them.  We’ll take a better approach.  Take better care of ourselves, our family, our resources. 

That’s my hope anyway.  After some late night family “revelry” which, to the delight of the 9-year-old consisted of ice cream sundaes and sparking cider, the household is moving slowly this morning.  Still, there’s a sense that this year I’m going to get it right.

Exciting possibilities await me in 2010.  Some I’ll share about here.  Some not.  But today, I’m ready to move forward.

As I said yesterday, I’ve taken The 90 Day Challenge to read through the NIV version of the Bible in 90 days.  Day one, Genesis Chapters 1-12.

4 Responses to “Happy New Year!”

  1. Derek January 1, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    Hey brother,

    Day 1 should be closer to something like Gen 1-16.

    Press On.

  2. Michael January 1, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

    Thanks Derek. I couldn’t find my NIV without the devotional notes, so I divided the 1508 pages by 365 and got roughly 16 1/2. In mine that took me through Genesis 12. We’ll see how it pans out. Thanks for the encouragement.

  3. SWAC Girl January 1, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    Welcome back, Mike. You were missed during your Christmas sabatical.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The 90 Day Challenge – Day 46 - February 15, 2010

    […] at the first of the year I announced that I was taking The 90 Days Challenge.  It’s a reading challenge to go through […]

Leave a Reply

