Back to Netflix: Valkyrie

31 Jan
(L) Col. Claus von Stauffenberg (R) Tom Cruise as Stauffenberg

Recently I reinstated my Netflix membership.  I like having movies playing in the background while I’m writing or editing.  And there are hundreds of movies I meant to see in the theater but just never did.

So tonight I took a break from my LOST marathon and watched Valkyrie with the family.  It’s the Tom Cruise movie about one of many attempts to assasinate Hitler. 

Fascinating story.  Painfully slow movie.

Cruise has been basically the same character in any film in which I’ve seen him. This is sort of a “Jerry Maguire goes to Germany” movie. At one point I recoginized the interrogation seen from “A Few Good Men.”  That’s not necessarily a bad thing if you’re a star like Cruise.  But it didn’t work in this film. 

As an aside, my son and I did a double take as Bernard Hill gave a bit of Theoden’s speech to the Rohirrim in the opening scene.

Cruise’s lack of a German accent was also distracting.  Yes, I get that Robert Redford wasn’t British in “Out of Africa.”  I get that Kevin Costner didn’t have a British accent in “Robin Hood.”  But a non-German German?  At the very least have the accents in the film, that is the other Germans, be consistent with that of your star.

When I saw the previews for this in the theaters, I was anxious to see it.  But as things go, we rarely get to the non-kid-friendly movies on the big screen.  Thus the convenience of Netflix.  But I’m glad I didn’t pay the big bucks for this.

Leave a Reply

