Test post

21 Feb

This is a test post of the WordPress app for my Droid. I’m going on a short term mission trip on Saturday and want to be able to blog from the road.

2 Responses to “Test post”

  1. Michael February 21, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

    Oh, this makes me very happy.

  2. yvonne February 22, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    Dear Micheal, the first read thru, sent me to the whole sermon, and that made a big difference. If you go to any UPI or AP website and type in the name Shawn Armstrong you will find my friend. And within the boundaries of John Wesley’s message lies a story, so tragic. Wanting to make sense of this story seems almost impossible.
    First you need to know that I would have never seen it had it not been for the fact darrel bought me my own computer and in the last day i have just gotten personalized and added your blog site. and thanks to google buzz, i get the alerts from my fav. tabs. This is no small thing. Needing God’s message in a story so full of guile is such an answer to prayer. So i thank you.
    You should go to the news sites. There you will see just the facts, my friend for many years shot an killed her husband. A friend that had become more of an aquaintance, but whose covenant children i loved, and would look for on Sunday mornings. Of recent she came into church in that state of desrepair with children that looked like they just got out of bed. Not the Shawn i used to go to Bible study with, or dropped my children off to in the nursery. She had allowed the winter of hardships roots’ lie, and grow again, so that she didn’t watch and pray. But herein lies the rub. Neither did i, my guile was in believing hers and her husbands were worlds apart from my own. Today i keep thinking, maybe hearts wouldn’t be breaking if i had prayed like Wesley, (4. Is it not wisdom for him that is now standing, continually to cry to God, “Search me, O Lord, and prove me; try out my reins and my heart! Look well, if there be any way of wickedness in me, and lead me in the way everlasting?” Thou alone, O God, “knowest the hearts of all the children of men:” O show thou me what spirit I am of, and let me not deceive my own soul! Let me not “think of myself more highly than I ought to think.” But let me always “think soberly, according as thou hast given me the measure of faith!” )
    There are now three children, a mother with potentially 60 years of prison, and no father. Watching people’s lives spiral within our watch is hard. We shirk back at rebuke, bc we don’t want to be judgemental, but Proverbs says, “open rebuke is better than hidden love. And as a congregation of believers, deceiving our own souls, and as a consequence we don’t love and give the proverbial “damn”. Paul in I Cor. is wanting those believers to see the importance of a Body. The analogy and metaphor of the body aren’t poetic or idealic, or theoretical, they are the air we breathe as we pray or sing, or worship the Lord of the Body, or we die. We watched their anger grow and grow and we splintered instead of coming together and realizing we were all going to soon be on lifesupport as a result.
    So i would covet, the congregation of Zion Presbyterian Church, PCA would covet your prayers. We are a small 200 year old 350ish member church with pre-revolutionary men and women buried in this scotts-irish ground. Some are the victim’s, Maury, named for our first county’s founder, relatives. We have joys and sorrows, but mostly we have believers who pray for the Lord to help their unbelief. We are in a time of transition and we have a precious godly new young minister. Lots of transition, lots of the devil wanting to see someone decide to pull the plug on our life-support.
    Thank you for all you do, on a daily basis to keep us accountable. Also you can find our church on facebook fanpage. http://www.zionpca.org

Leave a Reply

