Lenten Reflections – Day 20

8 Mar

Isaiah 40:28
Do you not know? Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom.

Micah 7:19
You will again have compassion on us; you will tread our sins underfoot and hurl all our iniquities into the depths of the sea.

My family loves spending a week each summer on the Outer Banks of North Carolina.  Each morning before everyone else is awake, I take the opportunity to walk or sit on the beach to enjoy the early morning sun.  Watching the sun across the water, and the waves lapping against the shore, I am always amazed by the beauty and the immensity of God’s creation.  How can anyone look at this and think it “just happened” into being?

Yet the very same God who spoke this all into existence wants to have a relationship with me.  Me, with all my failures and transgressions.  Me, as insignificant as the individual grains of sand beneath my feet.  Man may have found the ability to measure the depths of the sea.  But none of us can fathom the depths of His love for us.

In the glow of the morning sun and the awesomeness of His presence the cares and the struggles of the past year don’t seem as important anymore.   The hard times and my failures in dealing with them all seem to wash away.  I am renewed.

I look forward to another week on the beach next summer.  But the reality, God’s reality, is that I don’t need to wait until then to be renewed and refreshed.  I may feel closer to God at the beach.  But here amidst the stacks of paper on my desk, with the sleeping dog at my feet and a yard needing to be mowed, He is just as nearby as He was on the shore.

It’s up to me to be quiet enough to remember that.

Leave a Reply

