This May Be A Very Dangerous Book

10 Jun

I’ve had this book on my shelf for several months.  Always meaning to get to it.  One of our pastors, who left this week for full-time missions work in the Philipines quoted from the book the morning he told us he and his family were leaving.  I can’t remember the quote, but I remember it registered with me.  So, I purchased the book and put it on the “must read” shelf.

Then Monday, I was at a missions committee meeting and our missions director again referenced the book. 

“Okay, Lord.  I got the message.  I’ll start reading it.”

So, today I did.  And right off the bat I can see that this book is going to be trouble.  Trouble because it takes me out of my comfort zone.  It takes me beyond what my traditional beliefs of Christianity.  Trouble because it says things like:

…In fact, Christ calls us to be His partners in changing our world, just as He called the Twelve to change their world two thousand years ago.

And that’s just in the Introduction.

I don’t know yet if this book will change my world view, or merely reenforce the things I already know.  Or should know.  Stay tuned.

If you’d like to check it out, follow this Amazon link: Hole In Our Gospel

Leave a Reply

