I'm being ripped off by Savings2Go

1 May

COMMENTS ON THIS POST ARE NOW CLOSED.

I was reviewing my online bank statement tonight and found a charge I didn’t recognize.  Somebody called “Savings2Go” for $8.95.

I Googled up the name and apparently it’s credit card fraud where these scam artists take small amounts out of your account every month hoping you won’t notice.

I noticed.  And I’ll be reporting it tomorrow.  Hopefully that will allow me to take care of it.  But from what I’ve read, it won’t be easy.

37 Responses to “I'm being ripped off by Savings2Go”

  1. mel meyer June 23, 2008 at 9:50 am #

    I just found out that I have being billed by savings2go since last June at $12.95 per month. When I contacted them, a person from another country told me
    that I could not cancel my account if I wanted a recording or transcript of when I agreed to their service.

    Needless to say, I told them to cancel the account and send me my money.

    I’m glad to find that I am not the only one upset by this kind of thieviery.

    What more can be done.

  2. Michael June 23, 2008 at 8:16 pm #

    I filed a statement with my bank for each of the fraudulent charges. They took it from there.

  3. Stephanie August 20, 2008 at 1:57 pm #

    After reading what happened to you all, I am glad that I just called and let Savings2GO GO. The woman had the nerve to get upset with me because I told her that I did not trust the company because my membership package came in the mail late, giving me less than the 30 days to try it out. When she asked if she could call me by my first name, I told her, “No.” She asked me again, and again, I said, “No, you may not.” She then proceeds to run down the same information that is in the packet while I am so not paying her any attention. I finally tell her that I am at work and to cancel the membership. I ask for written confirmation of the cancellation and she tells me that they cannot email or mail me anything, and I have no access to the website because she has cancelled my membership. I should have cancelled online (if that is even possible). Miss ID #9WE puts me on hold and then gives me her ID # which is probably fake. But, I tell you this. I better not find any charges to my bank account. That’s it, that’s all.

  4. Daniel August 23, 2008 at 1:56 pm #

    I was a little put off and suspicious when they called me out of the blue thanking me for being a good customer with my VISA DEBIT CARD…. Because it’s kind of hard to be a good customer your bill on time if the money is directly debited.

    The first time they called I stopped them mid stride into their script and explained that the card they were referring too was not mine (even though it was) and thought that was the end of it. I figured maybe whomever gave them my information might take a hint and remove me from their lists.

    I got a second call two days later and explained that I was already contacted but this was not my card and that I had initiated a credit fraud investigation. However, before I finished the word investigation the operator hung up.

    Based on my search to find information such as I found here it would stand to reason that I may have dodged a bullet.

  5. SANTANINA September 28, 2008 at 1:20 pm #

    I AM 1 OF THE AGENTS OR TELEMARKETER IN SAVINGS2GO..! AND FOR THE BENEFIT OF EVERYBODY WE ARE NOT DOING A SCAM.OK? THE 12.95 THING THAT MAKE U ALL PEOPLE PISSED OFF IS THE CHARGE OF YOUR MONTHLY MEMBERSHIP THAT IS AFTER YOU 30DAY TRIAL MEMBERSHIP IN WHICH YOU CAN CALL TO CANCEL. NOW BECAUSE YOU DIDNT CANCEL IT WITHIN THE 30 DAY TRIAL THAT IS WHY U WER BILLED BY THE 12.95 MONTHLY FEE MEMBERSHIP..YOU GET IT ALL.? NOW THERE IS ACTUALLY A RECORDING BEING DONE ON THE MARKETING PROCESS OVER THE PHONE,NOW IN THAT CASE THAT THE MAIN USER OF THE CREDIT CARD DONT KNOW WHERE THIS 19.95 CAME FROM,YOU NEED TO ASK UR FAMILY OR SIBLINGS IF WHO WAS THE ONE WHO WERE ABLE TO TAKE A TELEMARKETING PHONE CALL BECAUSE WE CAN DO THE PROCESS NOT ONLY WITH THE OWNER OF THE CREDIT ALSO WITH THE AUTHORIZE USER OF THE CREDIT CARD.!THATS Y IF WE ARE CALLING THE PROSPECTS OR CUSTOMERS THAT IS NOT AROUND WE ACTUALLY ASK THE MAN ONE THE LINE IF HE OR SHE IS ALSO THE AUTHORIZE USER ONE THE M,V,A,D CARD.!THATS ALL!THANK YOU!

  6. Michael September 28, 2008 at 1:30 pm #

    1) don’t shout

    2) I NEVER EVER agree to ANY membership deal over the phone.

    3) NEVER

    4) NOT EVER

  7. lisa October 1, 2008 at 7:18 am #

    They charged me 239 dollars !!!! Can’t believe it ….I got my bank statement yesterday..what should I do

  8. lisa October 1, 2008 at 7:24 am #

    Please santania….what membership….if a telemarketer be calling my house there’s noway in hell you’ll get a hold of anyone ..first teres only babies..second there’s no home phone…. celll uh ahhh don’t pik up unknown number

  9. Michael October 1, 2008 at 8:03 am #

    Lisa, you need to call you’re bank as soon as they open and explain that the charge was not authorized. Each bank will handle it differently, but do that to make sure that nothing else is charged against your account.

  10. Linda October 28, 2008 at 12:59 pm #

    Does anyone know how to contact Savings2GO?? the phone number next to my bank charge conveniently isn’t theirs and I’ve look all over the internet without success.

  11. Michael October 28, 2008 at 11:19 pm #

    Linda, talk to your bank. Mine was able to contact them. I got a follow up letter from them but didn’t keep the address once my account was cleared.

  12. Dean Atkinson November 18, 2008 at 11:31 am #

    (possible address i gave the card company)
    Program is administered by Stonebridge Benefit Services, Inc., 2700 West Plano Parkway, Plano, TX 75075-8200.

    1-800-448-0166 is savings2go’s phone number

    But notice how conveniently there customer service (#3) on there phone system hang’s up on you automatically, so you give up and miss canceling before the first month… nah not a scam at all….

    This is what I did, 1 week after I was enrolled I called the number and selected one of the other numbers to get to a different department, then get transferred. Then I had to tell the lady 3 times to cancel the account, one of there cards read “wait till you get the benefit package” to bad the don’t mail it out until after your free month is expired so they can charge you. So finally I had my account terminated over the phone on 10-13-08, then received a charge to my account on 11-17-08. $14.95 again, lol not a scam cough BS… cough

    Called the bank, the couldn’t find any info.. I got some, but not sure if it is correct. (See above)
    I got my money back.

  13. Alicia December 3, 2008 at 4:16 pm #

    Savings2go has been charging my account 12.95 a month for the last 2 years. It took me a while to figure out what was happening. When I called the number next to the transaction on my bank statement, no one I talked to could find me in their database. Finally, after MANY calls, one agent was willing to go through all of my previous addresses and phone numbers until one matched their records. It turned out that this BS was tacked on to something my husband had ordered through the phone. They even had his name spelled wrong so that the chance of them finding us and matching the names would have been slim. He did not consent to our credit card information being given out to other companies, but somehow it was. When I explained that we had not subscribed to the service, and had not been made aware of the 30 day trial or even of what the service consisted of or pertained to, the agent said they would only refund 3 months and gave me their web address and promised to send out a membership packet. They wanted me to send them MY BANK STATEMENT to prove to THEM that I was telling the truth!!! Like I would give someone whos ripping me off more of my personal info???? I figured since I had been paying into it all this time and couldnt get my money back, I’d have a look at it… Turns out this “service” is something that no one in their right mind would pay for!!!! I called today, and again, explained my situation. After going back and forth with them, I was able to get them to refund one year of the money I payed into it. They said it will be credited to my account within 72 hours. We’ll see…Still a rip off, but what can I do?

  14. Jim December 6, 2008 at 3:34 pm #

    I got an 8.00 charge on my bank account and then here comes their membership card. I have not talked to ayone cause I have an nasw service and if the number is not recognized it gtes a prerecorded message and it is not answered by a prson not by a real live person anyway. I called the number on the card and cancelled the service, lady was very hostile but being somewhat adamnant she reluctantly cancelled it, tried to tell me I coul do it in 30 days, I told her now or else I would be bringing chrges for fraud as well as theft. She immediately stated my card was cancelled.. Some sucker is selling our cc numbers to them becasue they never talked with me or anyone else as I am the only one in the house. And I NEVER answer an unknow caller on my cell. And I never give info on the net to anyone. This is a big time scam thta should be investigated by the attorney generals office.

  15. Jim December 6, 2008 at 3:39 pm #

    Their phone number is 1-800-448-1944 , this is who I called.

  16. Jim December 6, 2008 at 3:41 pm #

    savings to go is administered by Stonebridge Bennefit Services INC.

  17. Heather January 17, 2009 at 1:09 pm #

    silly lady told me on the phone that it was because i ordered something from an infomercial off of the website, that they used my stuff. I went ahead and told her that it wasnt authorized and i wanted my money back, she said it would be back in 2 to 3 statements….whatever its more the point that someone is able to get my cc number and just use it freely

  18. Michael January 31, 2009 at 7:52 pm #

    I ordered a Shamwow and because I did I got signed up to partner companies, Well one of the partner companies was SAVINGS2GO and I’m being charged $15 a month. This month was the first charge because I have a prepaid CC and when they tried to charge me the first time they couldn’t. I called the phone number and talked to a woman on the phone and told her I didn’t sign up for this service and that I wanted my so-called membership canceled and that I wanted all of my money refunded and that I had no idea how I got signed up in the first place. She told me I joined when I ordered the shamwow because SAVINGS2GO was a partner company. I was hot after she told me that. I told her her company was shady and that if I didn’t get a full refund for the entire amount that I would contact the State of Washington and complain about what they are doing. She told me that I would get a refund of the $15 in 3 days and I told her I better get a full refund of any money they took out of my account. 2 days from now if I don’t receive a full refund I will contact the state about shutting this company down.

    What really sucks is that I loaded money on my card to pay for my medicine that I need this month and because of this SAVINGS2GO I didn’t have enough to pay for them. Now I have to barrow enough money from my family to buy what I already had budgeted this month for my meds. Thanks SAVINGS2GO you sure know how to screw a person over.

  19. hivalue February 6, 2009 at 5:08 pm #

    I received Savings2go membership by enrolling in LeisurePlus. Savings2go is a partner company with similar benefits. I called to cancel the duplicate service and they were very nice to work with. They advise that the account with savings2go was cancelled and no charges would be made to my account which was with LeasurePlus. Hope this help.

  20. Peg February 13, 2009 at 11:45 pm #

    Well here it is this site tried to scam me also, luckely I jumped on it fast…..called them and said a few not so nice names and reported it right away. I got this back today….Apparently the site has been closed down as it is no longer accessible.

    oldog
    Director
    Apparently the site has been closed down as it is no longer accessible……*************** .not sure if it worked because the sites that I have checked say u need an ID number.This has taught me a huge lesson and I will not buy anything on line again. They took my info from another site, never thought I would go threw this …….silly me

  21. Carlos February 17, 2009 at 12:52 pm #

    after doing some purchasing online this company got my info, the contacted me by phone offering me to enroll to their discount program, I told them NO, but even so, they charged $14.95 to my credit card

    This is a despicable way to steal people’s money, after calling my credit card company they provide me with the company’s phone # this is the number I got 1-800-527-1947

  22. Misty February 17, 2009 at 12:56 pm #

    SB *SAVINGS2GO is shady and I am reporting them to anybody I can to get them shut down asap. This should be out lawed and all these people should be locked up.

  23. LORI February 22, 2009 at 11:02 pm #

    I was checking my bank statement today and low and behold I have a 14.95 charge for Savings2go.
    I never had a telemarket call. I never applied for anything of the sort online either. i did purchase something online recently, could they have gotten my info from that? I always use Paypal for online purchases. That purchase I used my debit card. GRRRRRRRR never again!!!!!

  24. D. Budde February 23, 2009 at 8:14 pm #

    Gentlemen:

    Thanks to the commentary provided by your website participants, I was able to unravel the puzzle of the mysterious savings2go charges that began appearing on our VISA card last month. The key, at least in our case, was an order we placed online last December from the ShamWow website. If you note the VERY fine print at the bottom of the order page (relating to a $10 discount offer), it reads as follows:

    “You’ll receive your membership welcome e-mail (from saving2go) within 3 days and can, at that time, access your benefits, including your $10 Cash Back. Your discounts are free for the next 30 days, plus all the valuable benefits of Savings2Go. If you are satisfied during your trial, do nothing. All your Saving2GO discounts and benefits will automatically continue for just $14.95 a month. Savings2Go benefits may be enhanced or modified at any time without prior notice. If at any time you are not completely satisfied during your trial or thereafter, simply call Savings2Go at 1-888-448-0166 to let us know you wish to cancel and you’ll owe nothing more. All your benefits and access will then be canceled immediately. All the money you save and the $10 Cash Back are yours to keep!”

    The catch—and it’s a big one—is that if you didn’t notice or simply randomly deleted the savings2go “membership welcome email” as trash or spam and didn’t immediately contact them to cancel your AUTOMATIC ENROLLMENT, you will be billed each month in perpetuity for $14.95. They’ve already got your credit card number thanks to Sham Wow. They don’t need your approval or authorization. Your failure to affirmatively cancel your “free” membership is all it takes.

    Not quite fraud but, clearly a VERY deceptive business practice. This is a classic example of what is referred to as the “automatic OPT-IN.” Absent your affirmative act to CANCEL and opt-out, you’re on the hook WITHOUT your consent or approval. Unfortunately, unlike legitimate websites, there is no option to decline this offer when you place your Sham Wow order. You are automatically booked with savings2go, like it or not. If you fail to respond to their email and cancel within the 30-day trial period or even if you never received a “membership welcome email”, your card charges being as soon as the free trial period is over. You opted IN when you placed your Sham Wow order.

    Lastly, when I called the number listed on the Sham Wow website for savings2go, all I got was a recorded message that stated the number is “not in service.” If you go to the savings2go website, you will not find a customer service number. You can’t even get beyond the initial screen without a “membership” number, which, if you did not receive or respond to their original email, you won’t, of course, have. Talk about a classic Catch-22 situation…

    Fortunately, I was able to secure an active customer service number for savings2go from my VISA card disputes unit. They were, apparently, quite familiar with this merchant. The number they provided for savings2go is 1-800-448-1944. It is a working number, at least as of 2/22/09. If you do call to cancel, be prepared for a high pressure pitch to keep your membership. Good luck and as the watch commander (from the old TV series) would admonish his troops at the morning line-up, “….be careful out there…!” Good luck and thanks for the help.

    D. Budde

  25. Dan February 24, 2009 at 6:31 pm #

    I’ve ordered several things online lately and this is the fifth thing I have had to cancel that I did not order! I have had $90 taken out of my account in January and now February for stupid memberships I did not ask for. This one Savings2go is from Sham Wow. They got the Sham part right and Wow what a rip off. It doesn’t perform like they advertise and I’m sure they make their money off the bogus maemberships. I called 1-800-448-0166, selected option 8 and got a guy named Colton ID#9LH who was polite and cooperative. He told me how I got it in the first place and supposedly is taking off the two months payment. Time will tell on that. He did ask my phone # for identification and also my birthdate. I gave him a hard time about the birth datem but he then supplied me with my address and email address to validate him so that was fair. He asked permission to expain benifits, but I declined and he let it at that. Hopefully he is more honest than the outfits he is affiliated with.

  26. gg February 24, 2009 at 6:36 pm #

    what the heck is this scam all about? I have now had 2+ monthly deductions from my checking account that I didn’t authorize for $14.95 a month…I just found their website and of course, you need a member id # to get in to the site…I am not a member nor have I ever signed up for it…can’t get any resolution from my bank..they claim I need to contact the website/customer service and then close all my accounts with their bank and start over…!!!**** So for this scam, I am inconvenienced one more time…don’t think so…I am contacting the BBB

  27. vickie February 25, 2009 at 3:09 pm #

    I just checked my bank account online and found a charge for 14.95 for something called savings2go from Plano Tx…I went to ask.com to look it up and found this website…thank goodness for others like me that were hoodwinked…I never recieved anything in the mail but do remember a phone call about a membership to something in which I kept telling the man that I was not interested…I finally hung up on the guy. I am getting ready to call the 800 number and my bank…this really makes me angry

  28. Jody February 25, 2009 at 3:12 pm #

    I ordered Zencore in December. Something I saw on Tv. They sold my information to all these other companies that are now stealing money from my checking account, monthly. BEWARE OF SAVINGS2GO, PLAN+, EZ SAVER, AMERICAN LEISURE & ZENCORE. Then when i try to call these “companies” they give me diffrent numbers to call or “accidently” disconnect the call. I have reported the frauds to my bank as well as the police and the BBB. If you google the names of these companies, there is nothing but negative remarks blogged about them. Once again BEWARE and even if it is “only” $15, think of how many people they are stealing $15 from every month.

  29. SAVINGS2GO-credited February 25, 2009 at 6:55 pm #

    I also purchased something online in December 2008 and just noticed the last two months I had $14.95 charges on my bank statement for SAVINGS2GO. I called my bank and they said I have to mail back a signed PDF which they emailed me to dispute these charges. Lucky for me this forum has the phone number for SAVINGS2GO so I called them and was able to cancel my membership and get a refund for the two charges.

    Here are the details of my call:

    I called 1-800-448-1944 and the option I pressed was 6 to cancel my membership. A recording said to enter my home phone number. I was hesitant to do so because I thought I’d then be put on a telemarketing phone list so I just pressed #. It asked again for my phone number so this time I pressed 0#. That worked because then I got an person after being on hold for only a minute. I asked him to cancel my member ship and refund my two charges to my account. He said he had to get my name and home address to find me in their system. Once he found me all he did was to ask me if I wanted to hear the benefits of their service before I cancelled. I just calmly said no … I’m not interested at all. He then politely said your charges have been credited and your membership has been cancelled.

    Thanks all!

  30. SAVINGS2GO-credited March 5, 2009 at 12:47 pm #

    Follow up … the next day the two charges were credited back to my account!

  31. Cleta March 7, 2009 at 3:59 pm #

    SB*SAVINGS2GO 800-448-1944 TX what a scam.I ordered slap chop for my neice and they inrolled me anyways. If you do know where you may have picked it up from wont do anygood to call they deny it. So come Monday morning if they dont retrive it give my money back. I will card fraud them.

  32. Linda March 7, 2009 at 8:14 pm #

    I also ordered an item from the “as seen on tv” web site and at the end of the transaction was asked if I wanted a $10 discount and I clicked yes (who wouldn’t)? That was it. Once I clicked on that they billed my account for $8 I called and they did take it off but I received a membership card from Savings2go a few days later. There was no mention of signing up for any membership card just the would you like to save $10 and once you click yes you are signed up. This is a total scam anyway you look at it. No one is notified that they are being charged or what they are being charged for. I hope if enough people complain they will be shut down for good. Just imagine how much money they are making off of unsuspecting customers who don’t notice the charge. It’s very irritating to be charged for something you didn’t even order and then have to go through the trouble trying to cancel it.

  33. Josh March 7, 2009 at 11:03 pm #

    I purchased the “PRAYER CROSS” necklace online instead of TV. Since that purchase I have received SPAM mail, and today had 14.95 taken from my bank acount. I have called several times the same number in some of these post. Just get transfered and put on hold.Not to mention telemarketers offering a 40 dollar gas card for free. Then a monthly fee for a membership I didn’t authorize. They even stated it would be billed to my account ending in ####. It was the correct numbers, I had not released to them.

  34. mc March 8, 2009 at 3:03 pm #

    I too made an online purchase and got e-mail notification of enrollment in the savings2go program, which I didn’t authorize, and a credit card charge. I checked the Better Business Bureau website and there weren’t any complaints showing on file. In addition to disputing the charge, I’ll be filing a complaint at bbb. org It looks like they need a sufficient number of complaints to open a report on this fraudulent business.

  35. Therese March 8, 2009 at 6:13 pm #

    I Did not Authorize for savings2go to put me as a member. I did not get any email as it said. I just got this junk by mail. I even try to log in and it did not recognize. these bastards took out almost $500.00 I just caught it last week. I will get it back in 2 weeks.

    My bank is going after several companies that has been taking funds out of my account.
    Watch out for

    any Foreign withdraws, Website,
    mem2day, UMGmtad,
    UMG smile. all these companies or websites are frauds. these are websites that my bank has found that’s been taking money out. with out me knowing it.

  36. Josh March 9, 2009 at 11:49 am #

    I called 1-800-449-7728 and pressed 0, I talked to a rep. I told them I wanted to cancel any membership they have with me, and anything else they have with my info on it, they said they did, and would credit the 14.95 back into my acc… Now I’ll wait and see if they do. I also went directly to the bank and canceled my current debit card.. A bit of a headache, but I won’t be scammed again… No more purchases without PayPal for me.. Good Luck.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Write Side of My Brain » Virginia Credit Union: You Rock! - May 17, 2008

    […] mentioned a couple of weeks ago that I’d discovered that I was being ripped off by Savings2Go, whoever or whatever they […]

Comments are closed.